Chanel Fall/Winter 2012

Every once in a while I have to share an ad/marketing campaign that I come across. This time it’s Chanel’s Fall/Winter one. I love Chanel (if you haven’t already noticed). They’re just so classy and simple and dependable. Not in a bad way either. In a very good way. When you say “Chanel” you get an image in your head: Tweed blazers, quilted lambskin handbag, gold chain link strap.

With this image firmly engraved in my head, needless-to-say, I was blown away by the new “simple” ads. This one in particular in this month’s Elle. (Forgive the not-so-fabulous quality – I had to scan it in)

It’s very… modern? I think may be the word I’m looking for. The thing that stands out the most to me has to be the COLOR. Most Chanel ads I’ve seen are black and white or at the very most monochrome. To see not only the grey jacket full of colored beads but to also see all the handbags in different colors (especially that yellow one) is just a “wow” moment. Plus it seems “young.” Again, it may be the color, but it seems like they’re targeting a different market.  To be perfectly honest, I looked at their site and I cannot tell if these are Chanel or Boy Chanel bags. They both have the exact same style handbags. (Check out the Chanel Paris-Bombay 2011/2012 Metiers D’Art collection vs Boy Chanel and you’ll see what I mean).

I love Chanel. LOVE Chanel. Just have to throw that in.

What do you think of this marketing campaign? Love the new look of Chanel? Share your thoughts :-)

2 Comments to “Chanel Fall/Winter 2012”

  1. nothing’s better than the smell of chanel! x

Share your thoughts...

