Ding-Dong, Birchbox Calling!

So, I started subscribing to Birchbox last month and was super excited when I received my email saying my box had shipped. The day that I saw it would be arriving, I kept refreshing the Track A Package page of USPS begging the postman to hurry up and deliver it faster. Finally around 4pm it had arrived. So pretty and pink it was, I ripped into it.

For $10 I was not let down. Even the inside of the packing box was cute with little stamped world landmarks like the Eiffel Tower, Empire State Building, Tower Bridge, Arc de Triomphe and more. Here’s my box:

Here is the description card of what was included:

Going down the list:

Eyeko Skinny Liquid Liner: The liner has a felt tip pen like appearance that is supposed to help make a perfectly straight line easier. I was super excited for this as I love eyeliner, however, I was a little let down. It doesn’t seem to be very pigmented when actually applying to the eyes. Or, I just haven’t gotten the hang of it yet. I do love that it is purple though. It’s perfect for if you want to go outside your comfort zone of brown or black liner once in a while.

Melvita Floral Water: First let me start by saying I hate the smell of roses. Always have. This floral water mist, I can handle. It isn’t overwhelming with the smell. It’s just a light mist of fragrance. It smells very “clean.” I probably will give it to my mom but it is a good size sample of it. The full-size could be a great gift for a woman who loves the smell of roses and likes body mists over perfumes.

theBalm Cosmetics Stainiac: Upon first glance at this little bottle, you assume its a goopy lipgloss that is super red. When you put it on you are very, very mistaken. Not only is it not goopy at all, it’s almost like a melted down watery lipstick, it’s very sheer. You actually have to apply a few layers to get some real color. That being said, I like it, a lot. It has pretty decent lasting power and it’s not one of those that you’re hyperaware of all day. It’s so light it just feels like a balm not a lipgloss.

Yu-Be Moisturizing Skin Cream: I actually received one of these samples from Sephora and never used it. Receiving a second sample made me wonder if I should maybe try it this time. So, I tried it. Mainly to tell you all how it works. Well, it does work. I tried it on the back of my hands and it did make them smooth and soft for a short time. However, it will never be used again. It smells horrible. The consistency reminds me of my grandma and her obsession with applying vaseline before she goes to bed but the smell (as StorybookApothecary put it in her review) is exactly like Vick’s Vapor Rub. I couldn’t place the smell until I read her review and was instantly like “YES! THAT’S the smell!” This product is definitely not for me.

Bonuses:

Cynthia Rowley bandaids: These are really cool in my opinion. I wouldn’t ever buy them at $15 a box, but having this sample is one of the best parts of the box for me. They’re actually better than the typical cheap Band-aids too. I got a cardboard cut on my hand this weekend (like a paper cut but from cardboard… oww) and put on a cheap bandaid. Didn’t even last me an hour. These suckers last forever, through multiple upon multiple handwashings (I’m a bit of a germaphobe) and a full-day of moving boxes and furniture. Amazing.

John Varatos Cologne: I was a little bummed about the men’s cologne being thrown in, but their marketing ploy worked. My boyfriend was watching me go through the box and asked what everything was and when I got to the men’s cologne he excitedly asked for it and then proceeded to tell me he wanted to sign up for the Men’s Birchbox. I will admit, the John Varatos cologne smells amazing and it might be bought for his birthday next month.

All in all, this box was soo much better than the last. I’ve already used 3 of the products more than once and have no plans to stop using them. Plus having a full-size eyeliner and box a bandaids that are both marked as $15 each means this $10 box was a fantastic deal. I’m glad I signed up for this box and it even made me sign up for another monthly beauty box subscription, Glossybox. I can’t wait for that to come in a few weeks!

How did your Birchbox’s turn out this month? Or have you used any of these products?

7 Comments to “Ding-Dong, Birchbox Calling!”

  1. I really want to sign up for birchbox! I guess you can’t really go wrong for $10 a month

    http://www.LoveNiki.com

    • You should try it! I figured I throw away $10 on crap like magazines or starbucks without even thinking about it, why not spend $10 and get something out of it! lol Thanks for reading! :-)

  2. I’ve been a subscriber for several months and only two boxes have let me down a bit. This box is fun…I got the same one you did. I tried the eyeliner yesterday and it was great!! Cheers!

  3. Totally agree! Lol @ Rose water comment. I’m not a fan of roses either. Reminds me of my grandmother, but I wanted to try it since it’s from Melvita which is supposed to be very natural brand. I like how calming it is to my skin, but the scent is meh. Same thoughts on Yu-Be! I can’t figure why it’s gotten such rave reviews; it literally does feel and smell like Vicks!

    • I love the look I get from people (guys especially) when I tell them I hate the smell of roses. I’m so glad someone understands! And the Yu-Be – the smell! I was like UGH what IS that?! I’m serious when I read your review on it… I went OMG that’s what it smells like! VICKS! I laughed out loud because you were so right. I don’t get the rave reviews either. :-) x

      • Pretty much! I was trying out the melvita rose toner the other day and my bf loved the scent. I’m like this is just for review purposes. I dunno I just can’t get past it. reminds me too much of my grandmother seriously! and yeah Yu-Be is so overrated and the price is ludicrous for the effects IMHO. x

Share your thoughts...

