Am I At That Age?

How do you know when to start using anti-aging creams? This is my question. I just hit 25 recently, and I know I’m not a teenager anymore and really need to start thinking about taking care of my skin, but, does this mean I need to start using anti-aging creams, eye serums, wrinkle creams, etc? I know there’s no explicit rule that tells you when to start using them, it’s just kind of a whenever you want to start thing, but when is the typical age? Have I waited too long already?

So, what did I do? I called Sephora’s VIB hotline and asked the question. The girl I talked to was 29 and she said she understood why I was starting to look into them, and her, herself, had started using them a few years ago as well. I told her I had sensitive skin and just wanted a new facial regimen that started dealing with the issue of anti-aging and some actual skin protection. I mean, I don’t want wrinkles in 10 years, why not start protecting my skin now. I actually read in Allure magazine earlier today that it’s easier to protect collagen than regrow it later. Not surprising, but really makes you want to protect what you have now, right? Right! So, I’d like to share first, what the girl at Sephora told me were the best that she could recommend for me. These might work for you as well if you have sensitive skin, that’s all I really told her my concern was. So here we go:

First, she suggested three different lines, Ole Henriksen, Korres, and Boscia for serums and creams. It appears all three of these brands are very natural and free of parabens and sulphates. I really don’t know which to try or if I should try any of them. It’s so hard to decide.

Ole Henriksen – Truth Crème™ Advanced Hydration – $45

Ole Henriksen – Truth Serum Collagen Booster – $48

Ole Henriksen – Total Truth Eye Crème SPF 15 – $45

Korres – Quercetin & Oak Antiageing & Antiwrinkle Day Cream SPF 4  – $48

Korres – Quercetin & Oak Antiaging Antiwrinkle & Firming Face Serum – $62

Korres – Quercetin & Oak Antiageing Antiwrinkle Eye Cream – $42

I know there is plenty of options to choose from though. Just from glancing through half a magazine, I came across Lancome’s Genifique which is a “youth activating serum,” Origins A Perfect World an “age defense tinted moisturizer BB cream,” and RoC’s Retinol Correction Sensitive Night Cream all promoting anti-aging benefits among a multitude of others. So how do we know which to try? They’re anti-aging and starting young with them means that we can’t really go based off results. It’s not like we wake up in the morning and see a wrinkle. So how are we supposed to judge whether or not they are right for us?

Now, I have questions for you ladies: Do you use anti-aging products? If you do, which are your favorites? Or, if you don’t, do you plan to or do you not believe in them? I want to hear your thoughts!

3 Comments to “Am I At That Age?”

  1. I just make sure to hydrate really well every day. Will you post your results if you decide to use any of these products? I’d be interested.

    • I wish I hydrated really well every day, either by drinking water or by using a moisturizer. Both I lack, lol. I will definitely be sure to post results when I decide on a product (if I can ever decide). Thank you so much for your interest! :-)

      • :)

        I think for me it’s especially important because if I don’t put lotion on after I shower, my skin produces more than it needs to to hydrate and then I break out super bad. I usually try to shower every-other-day to avoid getting too dry, but since I started working out all the time I kind of have to haha!

Share your thoughts...

