That’s a Pretty Lipstick… No not the color…

With so much focus being placed on packaging for makeup now-a-days it’s no wonder that everything is getting more pretty. The most noticeable, in my opinion, is blushes. Companies now have to make sure the color and quality of the product is impressive as well as the appearance of the makeup. We want pretty things, don’t we?

Here are some of the pretty products I’m referring to:

Pixi – Lumi Lux Radiance Powder – No.1 Peach Petal $26.00

M·A·C – ‘Hey, Sailor!’ Highlight Powder – $29

M·A·C –  ‘Extra Dimension’ Eye Shadow – $20

Dior – Garden Clutch Makeup Palette For Glowing Eyes and Lips – $75

Dior – Diorskin Nude Tan Healthy Glow Enhancing Powder – $55

Stila – Love at First Blush Palette -$14

Guerlain – Jewel Lipstick Compact – $48

Chantecaille – ‘Coral Reefs’ Face Palette – $79

I really like these pretty things, but in all honesty, I feel like sometimes we’re sacrificing quantity and quality to make sure that its pretty. Don’t get me wrong, I still love these and want them, but wouldn’t the “less pretty” quads, blushes, lipsticks etc do their job just as well, if not much better? And possibly for a lower cost because it doesn’t have to be made with as much precision? Just a thought.

Have you noticed this growing trend? What do you think of it?

9 Comments to “That’s a Pretty Lipstick… No not the color…”

  1. I think it is an interesting way of blending color, but I’m unsure about the practicality of it. I personally try to stay away from something that is just pretty packaging, but I’m sure I’ve been reeled in without realizing it in the past. I agree- we are sacrificing quality and quantity for the show of it all.

    • I know I’ve been reeled-in and purchased pretty things, I don’t mind it every once in a while, but there’s definitely a limit for me. Thanks for your comment! :-)

  2. I do love pretty packaging but I agree with you!

  3. wow they really are pretty! love it!! Xx

  4. I really want the PIXI blush…I’m such a sucker for packaging!

Share your thoughts...

