The Bare Midriff

Are you brave enough?

Not in general.. but are you brave enough to show off your stomach in these new cropped tops? I thought I had been saved from the ’80s Bare Midriff fashion trend by being born in ’87, but as always with fashion, it has made a name for itself again. That’s right, the bare midriff look is back! Plenty of designers embraced this look on the runway for the Spring/Summer looks. While I don’t have that bad of a figure, I am definitely scared by some of these. I have a few cropped shirts at the moment, but they’re always accompanied by a tank underneath to ensure no belly skin is exposed. Without those tanks, there would be no way I would ever purchase one. I, for one, am not brave enough for this skin-exposing trend.

They are definitely making me crave Summer though. If only this tornado weather would go away and the sun would come for good…

As always, I try and include a bit of both worlds to show off options for this style so there will be some expensive and some inexpensive. I’m not sure if it was coincidental, but the higher up I got in price range, the more attention the midriff got. See if you noticed it too..

Splendid – Sierra Stripe Fleece Cropped Top – $98.00 

Free People – Ready to Go Crop Top – $128
 
Arden B – Crop Colorblock Top – $18.99
 
3.1 Phillip Lam – Cropped Tee With Leopard Front – $122.50
 
Coven – Cropped Top With Pink Center – $525.00
 
Forever 21 – Mesh Crop Top – $13.80
 
TopShop  – Premium Sequin Crop T-Shirt – $90.00

 
BCBGENERATION  – Lace Crop Top – $58.00
 
Bebe – Chevron Sequin Crop Top – $49.99
 
Missoni -Elsa Cropped Crochet-Knit Top -$530
 
Willow & Clay – Lace Crop Blouse – $79.00
 

 Are you ready for summer yet?

Share your thoughts...

