A Tisket, A Tasket…

Have you seen these new shoes and handbags? They are made of straw and resemble basket-weaving.  I like the look and the idea; however, actual use of one.. I’m a bit iffy on.

Maybe one of you, my fellow readers, can answer the question that I have about them: how do they handle rain or water?

I don’t think they would hold up well to it, but, they are Spring/Summer items so maybe it can just be for sunny day use.

Anyway, one of the new Spring.Summer trends are basket-weaved straw handbags and shoes. I’m thinking this trend would look most amazing with flowy skirts and dresses, or other feminine/bohemian pieces. Definitely something to try with neutral colors and lace, ruffles, or florals.

What do you think of this trend? Have you found a pair of basket-weaved heels or a handbag you love? If not check out these possibilities:

Henri Bendel – The Blair Straw Bag – $298
This bag is so adorable, it seems like it’d be a perfect size if you’re just running some quick errands or going to lunch. The yellow trim really makes it, in my opinion. I’m ready for Summer when I look at this!

Charlotte Olympia – Rapunzel Wedge Pump – $1495
These caught my eye in a magazine. They just look so amazing. They have that traditional straw look but with a twist because of the black detailing in the wedge and bows on top. If I had an extra $1500 lying around these would be on my feet.

 
ASOS Collection – Weave Metal Bar Clutch – $53.72
This angle might not be the best, but this really is straw. To me it looks like it could easily be a fabric pattern or leather with a pattern, but indeed it is straw. This clutch, being an envelope clutch, is perfect for a date night in the summer. And… you can’t beat the price: $50!
 
Manolo Blahnik – Woven Straw Flower-Adorned Wedge Slides – $945
Manolo has stolen my heart countless of times. These are cute, but not my favorite. The bow is a nice addition, but not quite in love with them as the Charlotte Olympias. I like the black touches in the other shoe, but this one is a bit too much black.
 
Lauren by Ralph Lauren – Claridge Straw Clutch – $118
The color! Plus, straw mixed with leather. Perfect combination!
 
Tory Burch – Raffia Straw Reva Ballet Flat – $235
I love, love my Reva ballet flats that I own. I wear them all summer. I would love to get my hands on these raffia straw ones. They come with four different colors of trim: white, red, navy, and turquoise.
 
Betsey Johnson – Straw Tote – $88
Betsey Johnson has always been a little crazy in her designing, in my opinion, and that doesn’t mean I don’t love it. I love what she did to a traditional straw tote bag. The flowers really help create a look to what normally would be a boring bag. I love it and once, again, the price is manageable!
 
Burberry Prorsum – Peep Toe Loafer -$1264
Now, the price on these will break your poor little piggy bank, but talk about a combination of classic and trendy! A straw, heeled, loafer… If that doesn’t sound funny, I don’t know what does, but the end result is actually something worth looking at. Burberry knows how to put a twist on traditional.
 
Coach – Hamptons Weekend Straw Hangtags Editorial Tote – $898
I’ve done a post on my thoughts about Coach straying too far from its leather roots, but I have to admit. This tote caught my eye. All the multi-colored hangtags, I can’t help but love. It definitely wouldn’t be an everyday use bag for me, but it’s definitely grown on me. It’s such a great idea by the designer to put all their hangtags around to create a look simply from that because if you remove those, you remove the “wow” factor.
 
Lucky Brand – Straw Platform Slide Sandal – $89
Plain and simple wedge sandals. Just wanted to include another reasonable priced piece. These are $89 and from Lucky Brand via Victoria’s Secret. They’re classics that are for a casual summer day.
 
Tory Burch – Straw Turn-Lock Tote – $375
Yes, this is the second item of Tory Burch on this list, but I’m a fan, I can’t resist. It’s a simple straw tote, but with a chain handle and a turn-lock closure. It’s got a bright yellow trim to top it off too!
 
Prada – Woven Straw Peep-Toe Pump – $750
If you want straw with no extra details, these are the pumps for you. Simple peep-toe straw pumps from Prada. They have a shorter heel than most designer heels, so no worry about being to high to walk in naturally. Perfect for a summer work day.
 
Kate Spade – Point Breeze Small Coal Straw Shopper Bag – $378
Last, but definitely not least, Kate Spade. This black and natural colored straw tote is so adorable. It’s accented by a large black bow and chain handles reminiscent of Chanel straps. It’s not quite as “summery” as the other lighter colored straw bags but it still brings a sense of carefree that most people like and want in Summer
 

So, there’s the list. Do you have a favorite?

Share your thoughts...

